Epsom Derby 2022: Complete list of runners and riders for £1.5 million race

THE £1.5 million Cazoo Derby is just a few weeks away and the field is starting to take shape.

Huge crowds of 125,000 people flock to Epsom Downs each year on the first Saturday in June for the glamorous fixture, with the Derby the most prestigious of the five Classic races.

At the first scratchings deadline 93 entries were cut down to 43, with the next deadline on May 17 before the five-day confirmation stage on May 30.

Last year, the race was won by 16-1 shot Adayar for jockey Adam Kirby and trainer Charlie Appleby.

It was Appleby's second success in the race in the last four years, after Masar's Epsom romp back in 2018.


William Hill: Bet £10 get £30 in free sports bets CLAIM HERE

Betfair Get A £20 Free Bet when you place £50 worth of bets. Repeat up to 5 times for £100 Free Bets CLAIM HERE

Paddy Power: Bet £10 on Horse Racing Get £45 in Free BetsCLAIM HERE

Sky BetBet £5 Get £20 in free betsCLAIM HERE

William Hill: 18+. Play Safe. New customers using Promo code H30 only, Min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15, free bets credited after settlement of first qualifying bet, free bets will expire 30 days after the qualifying bet is placed, payment method/player/country restrictions apply. Begambleaware.org

Betfair – New customers place £50 worth of bets to receive £20 in free bets. Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum £100. Min odds 1.2 (1/5). Multiple bets included. Exchange bets excluded. Payment restrictions apply. T&Cs apply. 18+ BeGambleAware.Org

Paddy Power: Place a £10 Sportsbook bet on any Horse Racing market between April 22nd & May 3rd, at min. odds 1/5 (1.20) — get £45 in free bets on bet settlement, valid 30 days. Only deposits via Cards will qualify (Apple Pay deposits excluded). T&Cs apply. 18+ Begambleaware.org

Sky Bet: New customers only. First single and E/W bet only. Odds of 1/1 or greater. 2 x £10 bet tokens. Free bet stakes not included in returns. Free bets exclude virtuals. Free bets are non withdrawable. No free bet expiry. Eligibility restrictions and further T&Cs apply. 18+. Begambleaware.org

Epsom Derby 2022: Date and start time

The Derby will be held at Epsom Downs racecourse in Surrey on Saturday, June 4.

The race is due off at 4.30pm, with the first race on the card scheduled for 2pm.

The opening day of the two-day Derby meeting is on Friday, June 3.

The feature race on day one is the Oaks, which is a Classic race run over the same course and distance as the Derby, but for three-year-old fillies.

Who can run in the Epsom Derby?

The race is restricted to three-year-old colts and fillies.

It is very rare for fillies to run in the race, with the vast majority of them running in the Oaks 24 hours earlier, but six fillies have won the Derby in the past. The most recent was Fifinella in 1916.

Geldings cannot run in the race.

Most read in Horse Racing


Smash the bookies with these three Chester picks including this 10-1 shot


My Chester May Festival NAP will take the world of catching live on ITV


Gordon Elliott targets the Ebor after 2,000th winner thanks to Line of Duty star


Royal Windsor racecourse blasted over 'crap' and 'insulting' food

How can I watch the Epsom Derby?

The Derby will be live on ITV, with the first race due off at 2pm.

The Derby meeting will also be live on Racing TV.

How much is the Epsom Derby worth?

The Derby at present is the most valuable race in the UK.

It is worth a cool £1.5 million, with £850,000 to the winner.

Even the horse finishing sixth will scoop over £20,000.

What are the latest betting odds?

2-1 Luxembourg

Trainer: Aidan O'Brien

5-1 New London

Trainer: Charlie Appleby

10-1 Walk Of Stars

Trainer: Charlie Appleby

12-1 Piz Badile

Trainer: Joseph O'Brien

16-1 Point Lonsdale

Trainer: Aidan O'Brien

The last five Epsom Derby winners

2021 – Adayar (Trainer: Charlie Appleby. Jockey: Adam Kirby)

2020 – Serpentine (Trainer: Aidan O'Brien. Jockey: Emmet McNamara)

2019 – Anthony Van Dyck (Trainer: Aidan O'Brien. Jockey: Seamie Heffernan)

2018 – Masar (Trainer: Charlie Appleby. Jockey: William Buick)

2017 – Wings Of Eagles (Trainer: Aidan O'Brien. Jockey: Padraig Beggy)


Commercial content notice: Taking one of the bookmaker offers featured in this article may result in a payment to The Sun. 18+. T&Cs apply. Begambleaware.org

Remember to gamble responsibly

A responsible gambler is someone who:

  • Establishes time and monetary limits before playing
  • Only gambles with money they can afford to lose
  • Never chases their losses
  • Doesn’t gamble if they’re upset, angry or depressed
  • Gamcare – www.gamcare.org.uk
  • Gamble Aware – www.begambleaware.org

    Source: Read Full Article