Premier League Darts finals was postponed after major power cut killed electrics

The Premier League Darts finals once had to be postponed after a massive power cut knocked out the electrics at the venue.

Back in 2010, the season-ending finals were forced into being pushed back by one day after the power went out at the Wembley Arena on the night of the event. Reigning champion James Wade, Phil Taylor, Mervyn King and Simon Whitlock had been scheduled to face off for the title in the sixth edition of the tournament.

The PDC confirmed in a statement that the finals had been pushed back by 24 hours after the power outage affected both the venue and nearby transport networks.

"A power cut occurred at 5pm, cutting power to the Wembley Arena as well as affecting local transport networks," read the statement. "EDF Energy informed the Wembley Arena that power would not be restored to the area on Sunday night."

Speaking at the time, Taylor explained: "This is the first time that this has happened during my career and it's a real shame. I feel sorry for the fans who travelled to Wembley but hopefully they will be able to come along on Monday and enjoy the night."

When the play-offs finally got underway the next day, fans were treated to four thrilling matches, beginning with the semi-finals as Wade beat Whitlock and Taylor saw off King in their best of 15 legs ties.

Who will win the 2022 Premier League Darts finals? Let us know in the comments section below.

King then claimed third place with an 8-7 win over Whitlock before the best of 19 legs final between Wade and Taylor. The latter claimed his fifth title in six years with a 10-8 victory over The Machine.

Darts fans will be hoping that history does not repeat itself at the Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin on Monday night and that the electrics survive the night.

Wade has reached the finals once again and is set to face Michael van Gerwen in their best of 19 legs contest. Meanwhile, Jonny Clayton is up against Joe Cullen in the other semi-final. The winners will meet in the best of 21 legs final.

Source: Read Full Article