The West Wing cast: Who is in the cast of The West Wing?

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Acclaimed American political series The West Wing is available to watch on Channel 4’s All 4 in the UK for viewers to watch for free. All seven seasons of the show, which delves into the inner workings of the Oval Office and Capitol Hill. looks at the cast of the Aaron Sorkin-created series.

Who is in the cast of The West Wing?

The West Wing ran from 1999 to 2006 and covered a fictional American presidential administration.

The show came right at the start of the so-called golden age of television with Hollywood actors including Rob Lowe and Martin Sheen appearing on the small screen.

During its run, The West Wing won countless awards including numerous Emmys for various cast members.

Since then many of the cast members have seen their career flourish further thanks to the series.

Josiah “Jed” Bartlet – Martin Sheen

Hollywood star Martin Sheen played the fictitious President of the United States Josiah “Jed” Bartlet.

The veteran actor is best known for his roles in Apocalypse Now, Badlands, The Departed and The Way.

Since The West Wing, the star has continued to work across television and film including TV series Anger Management, Badge of Honour and Ask Me Anything.

More recently, Sheen has starred in comedy Grace and Frankie and he will next be starring in Judas and the Black Messiah and 12 Mighty Orphans.

Leo McGarry – John Spencer

Actor John Spencer played Leo McGarry, a close friend of the president as well as being the chief of staff.

Spencer won an Emmy in 2002 but sadly the actor died in 2005 with The West Wing being his last role before his death.

Prior to The West Wing, Spencer was a Hollywood actor with parts in The Rock, WarGames, Presumed Innocent and Cop Land.

Some of his roles include TV series Trinity, L.A. Law and The Patty Duke Show.

Sam Seaborn – Rob Lowe

Former Brat Pack member Rob Lowe left behind his 1980s days as a teen icon to play Sam Seaborn, the deputy communications Director to Ziegler.

Lowe is best known as St Elmo’s Fire, The Outsiders, Wayne’s World and has continued to star across film and television.

Some of his other credits are Brothers & Sisters, Californication, Parks and Recreation, Wild Bill and 9-1-1: Lone Star.

Josh Lyman – Bradley Whitford

Bradley Whitford portrayed the inimitable Josh Lyman, the deputy chief of staff to Leo McGarry.

The West Wing really launched Whitford’s career and put him on the map and since then had has an impressive career with roles in Get Out, The Handmaid’s Tale, Transparent and Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

Toby Ziegler – Richard Schiff

Richard Schiff took on the role of Toby Ziegler, the White House’s Communications Director who wrote many of the president’s speeches.

Much like some of his co-star Schiff has appeared in big movies such as The Lost World: Jurassic Park, Se7en, Malcolm X and Speed.

He has subsequently featured in The Good Doctor, Ballers, The Affair and Counterpart.

C.J. Cregg – Allison Janney

Allison Janney was press secretary C.J. Cregg, later taking over from McGarry.

Before The West Wing, Janney had supporting roles across films such as Primary Colors, 10 Things I Hate About You, The Hours and American Beauty but it was to be the NBC political drama which propelled her into the spotlight.

Since then, Allison has won numerous accolades including Oscars, BAFTAs and Emmy Awards with roles in I, Tonya, Mom, The Help and Juno.

Other cast members include Dulé Hill as Charlie Young, Janel Moloney as Donna Moss, Stockard Channing as Abbey Bartlet, Alan Alda as Arnold Vinick and Kristin Chenoweth as Annabeth Schott.

The West Wing seasons 1 to 7 are streaming on All 4 now

Source: Read Full Article